Facing Weapons Charges in Massachusetts?
Have you been charged with a weapons offense?
It is no secret that Massachusetts has some of the strictest gun laws in the nation. Many people who are charged with weapons charges are unaware that they are breaking the law because some cities and counties throughout the Commonwealth have created even stricter gun laws. Regardless of where you are in the Commonwealth, if you are in possession of a firearm without a license you may be charged with a weapons offense.
Gun Licensing in Boston, MA
There are extensive procedures that you must follow before you can obtain a firearm in the state of Massachusetts. All gun licenses in the state are designated as Class A or Class B, and Class A is the only license that allows the carrying of concealed handguns, either loaded or unloaded. The law also dictates how guns are supposed to be stored. In order to obtain a firearm license, you must be at least 21 years of age or older in order to obtain a Class A or Class B license. You may have to complete a training course.
Renewing your license every six years is a requirement, and these licenses cost $100 each. While you are allowed to carry a loaded or unloaded rifle upon or across a public way if you are engaged in hunting and have a valid hunting license, you cannot possess a loaded rifle or shotgun within 500 feet of a building or dwelling without the occupant’s or owner’s permission. No one with a prior felony conviction is allowed to have a firearm legally. If you violate any of these conditions, you could be criminally charged.
Firearms: Laws & Regulations
According to Massachusetts Law §269.10 (2011), the penalties for violating a law regarding dangerous weapons includes a minimum 18 month jail sentence which could increase up to 30 months. Not only that, but they will be eligible for parole until they have served at least 18 months of their sentence and they cannot apply for any outside work release or furlough. If the dangerous weapon was found on the accused’s person, the penalties will increase. They will be subject to at least 30 months in state prison up to 5 years. If an individual sells or fails to keep accurate records regarding a firearm sale, they could be put in jail for up to 30 months and fined up to $500.
You can also be charged for having a machine gun or sawed-off shotgun, or having a concealed firearm in public. If the weapon is loaded, you may face hefty fines and up to two years in prison. Carrying a large capacity weapon can require that you serve a minimum of one year and potentially up to ten. To learn more about these laws and how you can avoid the penalties of a conviction, call our criminal defense firm today!