Keegan Law: Boston’s Finest Burglary Attorneys
Breaking and entering a dwelling or home at night with the intent to commit a felony will result in a burglary charge in our state. This “common law burglary” is not the only kind, and can be expanded to include different types of dwellings, daylight hours and specific breaking and entering conditions. Burglary can be brought against you as either a misdemeanor or felony, determined by the factors of your case.
Breaking and entering includes more than just burglary of homes or businesses. It could also include breaking into a railroad car. The punishment for those accused of this felony could include up to ten years in state prison and a fine of up to $500. Burglary of a truck, tractor/trailer, semi-trailer, or freight container is also counted as a felony. The punishment for this offense includes up to ten years in prison as well as a $500 fine.
It is important to understand that burglary carries serious penalties if convicted, and it is vital to have the right criminal defense attorney on your team. Under Massachusetts §266.15 (2011), for unarmed burglary, a first conviction can result in up to 20 years in prison, and if you have any previous burglary conviction on your record, a five-year minimum sentence will be required. Armed burglary or aggravated burglary (Massachusetts Law §266.14 (2011)) with a knife or blunt object is punishable by a minimum of ten years in prison. Use of a firearm carries a minimum of 15 years in our state, and with any previous conviction of burglary, the minimum rises to 20. Factors that can influence the severity of sentencing include the time of day, if anyone was hurt, what type of building was entered and the value of what was stolen.