Have You Been Convicted in Massachusetts of Having Sex with a Minor?
State Laws Regarding Sexual Conduct with Minors
In the Massachusetts General Laws §272-4 (2011), it states that it is illegal to engage in sexual intercourse with a person under the age of 18. Also, minors are not considered to be capable of consent under state law, which means that even if an underage person agrees to engage in sexual conduct with someone, that consent cannot be used as defense in the event of criminal charges. Penalties for having sex with a minor include up to 2.5 years in jail or 3 years in prison, a $1,000 fine, or both. Don’t take chances with your freedom if you have been accused of such a crime. Hire a competent defense attorney right away!
How a Boston Sex Crime Attorney Could Defend You
There are a couple different ways in which you could defend yourself when faced with such accusations. First of all, you could argue that you were unaware of the child’s age. They may have lied about their age or failed to tell you that they were a minor. If you were certain of their adulthood at the time of the act, you may be able to have your charges dismissed. Also, you may have never engaged in the act in the first place. If this is so, an experienced Boston sex crime lawyer from Keegan Law could help you build a strong defense and fight for your innocence in court.
Consult with a Sex Crime Lawyer in Boston
Our firm has nearly 40 years of experience in sex crime law and prides itself on its levels of determination and aggression. We have extensive knowledge and resources at our disposal and could use them to provide the defense that you need. Don’t allow yourself to be wrongfully convicted for such a serious sex crime! Complete our simple online case evaluation or call our offices today so that we can review your case and help you take the necessary legal steps after an arrest. It is vital that you understand your rights, so contact a Boston sex crime attorney as soon as possible.