Keegan Law: A Massachusetts Child Pornography: Sex Crime Defense Team

Have you been accused of possession of child porn?

Before you can be convicted of a child pornography charge, a prosecutor must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that:

  • The defendant hired, coerced, solicited, enticed, employed, procured, used, caused, encouraged, or knowingly permitted a minor under 18 to pose or be exhibited in the nude or in a state of sexual conduct.
  • The defendant knew or should have known the alleged victim was under 18.
  • The defendant had lascivious intent.
  • The purpose of the defendant’s actions was representation or reproduction in any visual material.

The prosecution will pursue these charges aggressively, and in their eyes you are already guilty. According to Massachusetts Law §272.29A (2011), if convicted, you will face a minimum of 10 years in prison or up to 20 years in prison, and pay a fine between $10,000 and $50,000, so retaining the right firm is essential.

Child Pornography Dissemination & Purchase

You may also be charged with the sex crime of dissemination of child pornography or its purchase. If you are convicted of disseminating child pornography, the penalties are the same as a child pornography charge, with the added fine of three times the amount of money gained from selling the illegal material or $50,000, whichever is greater. Massachusetts Law §272.29B (2011) gives information regarding the penalties you should be expecting.

A conviction for purchasing child pornography will result in up to five years in prison or a fine up to $10,000. A second conviction will raise the minimum prison time and fine amount to five years and $5,000. Any of these consequences can change your life, and we understand your need to avoid a conviction. No matter what you have been accused of, you have the right to due process and effective legal representation, so speak to our firm today!