Contact Keegan Law for Meth Charges in Massachusetts
Work With A Reputable Boston Drug Defense Attorney
Meth is listed in the federal controlled substance laws and is a Schedule II drug. Meth is popular among teenagers and young adults who seek cheaper alternatives to cocaine, heroin and marijuana. Meth also tends to attract less attention from law enforcement. Or so people think.
Massachusetts’ Meth Laws (Chapter 94C: Section 32A): Possession
In Massachusetts, you can face the following penalties if caught in possession of meth:
- For a first offense, you can face up to one year in jail, have to pay $1,000 and lose your driver’s license
- For a second offense, you can face up to two years in jail, have to pay $2,000 and lose your driver’s license
Penalties for Manufacturing or Distributing Meth
For manufacturing or distributing meth, you can expect the following penalties:
- For a first offense, you can face anywhere from two and a half years to 10 years, or House of Correction for one to two and a half years, as well as a fine between $1,000 and $10,000 and lose your driver’s license
- For a second offense, you could face anywhere from three to 10 years in state prison, have to pay a fine between $2,500 and $25,000 and lose your driver’s license
It is not uncommon for unusual odors, covered windows, strange ventilation, elaborate security, dead vegetation and excessive trash to point to one thing: meth labs. Cold medicine, lithium batteries, camping fuel, drain cleaner and salt are all normal items, but when combined can prove dangerous as they can be used to manufacture meth. Recently, there have even been reports of a new “shake-and-bake” method that allows meth producers to make the drug in small amounts, which makes them less likely to be arrested.
Penalties for Meth Traffickers
For trafficking meth, you can expect especially severe consequences that include:
- Trafficking 14 grams or more but less than 28 grams: you could face three to 15 years in state prison and be forced to pay a fine between $2,500 and $25,000
- Trafficking 28 grams or more but less than 100 grams: you could face five to 20 years in state prison and fines ranging from $5,000 to $50,000
- Trafficking 100 grams or more but less than 200 grams: you could face 10 to 20 years in state prison and have to pay a fine between $10,000 and $100,000
- Trafficking 200 grams or more: you could face 15 to 20 years in prison and have to pay a fine between $50,000 and $500,000
Authorities are stepping up their measures- watch out! Recently a meth trafficking law was passed that authorities say, “…is a vital update to our current laws and will help combat the trafficking of this highly addictive and dangerous drug that is becoming increasingly more prevalent in our communities.”
In Massachusetts, our state has many drug courts that handle methamphetamine possession cases. This means that rather than being subject to criminal penalties, a methamphetamine possessor could be sentenced to rehabilitation and drug treatment.
With the right legal representation, you don’t have to feel helpless or alone any longer- you aren’t a victim, you can be a fighter! A Boston drug defense attorney can attempt to file a motion to suppress any evidence that was obtained unlawfully. Why is Keegan Law the right choice for you?
With over 40 years of combined legal experience and former careers as police officers, the attorneys at Keegan Law understand the legal system and know how to provide you with hard-hitting representation. Contact Keegan Law today for the competent legal services you deserve on your side. You are innocent until proven guilty, and we can help you uphold your rights in court!