Boston DUI Lawyer
Accused of OUI or DUI? Get the defense you need today!
Have you been arrested for Operating under the Influence (OUI) or Driving
Under the Influence (DUI) charges? According to Massachusetts §90.24(1)(a)(1)(2011),
anyone who is found to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs while
on a public roadway, could be convicted of DUI.
- $500 to $5,000 fine, and/or
- Imprisonment up to two and a half years.
The legal limit for drinking and driving in every U.S. state is 0.08%.
Also known as blood alcohol concentration or blood alcohol level, the
blood alcohol content (BAC) is measured by chemical testing.
If you were arrested and charged with drunk driving in Boston or elsewhere
in Massachusetts, call (617) 580-3449 today to speak with Keegan &
Novick about your defense options.
There are two major types of chemical tests:
A police officer in some circumstances may also administer a urine test.
Massachusetts DUI Laws: Melanie's Law
In our state, laws related to OUI/DUI are frequently changing and penalties
are continually increasing. Since the passage of Melanie's Law in
2005, the penalties for DUI and OUI offenders are significantly greater
and the number of arrests throughout the state has risen dramatically.
According to the Massachusetts Government;
Melanie's Law establishes a new offense of Operating Under the Influence
of Alcohol and Operating After Suspension for Drunk Driving. This means
that a driver, who was driving under the influence of alcohol while his/her
license was already suspended for OUI, can be charged with two crimes
at once: 1.) OUI and 2.) OUI with a suspended license. This additional
offense carries a minimum of a 1-year mandatory jail sentence.
Additionally, if you have permitted someone to operate your car knowing
that he/she is unlicensed or has an interlocking ignition restriction,
you can spend up to a year in jail and be liable for $500 in fines. Under
this new law, anyone who operates a motor vehicle while under the influence
with a child fourteen years old or younger in the car will receive more
severe penalties, including up to 2 ½ years in the house of correction
and a $5,000 fine.
Melanie's Law also required all multiple OUI offenders to install an
Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in their vehicle. More than 400 Ignition
Interlock devices have been installed since Melanie's Law was passed
and a state-run program was initiated. The law also increased the length
of license suspension to a minimum of 15 years for a conviction of Motor
Vehicle Homicide, among other things.
DUI Traffic Stops in Boston
It's vital that you know and understand your constitutional rights
at a traffic stop. Knowing your rights can effectively avoid an arrest
and/or grounds for criminal charges in many cases. The same rights apply
whether you are stopped in a routine traffic stop or at a sobriety checkpoint.
The right to deny consent to a search of your vehicle (4
The right to silence (5
th Amendment) - to avoid saying anything self-incriminating
- The right to refuse a field sobriety test. These take place before an arrest
and are used by law enforcement to obtain probable cause for an arrest.
As former police officers, we understand how drunk driving arrests work.
We have made many of these arrests ourselves. From our experience, we
know the flaws and blurred lines that often characterize these traffic
stops. When we represent clients facing DUI/OUI charges, we often find
flaws in the evidence or the way the arrest was made, which can effectively
result in dismissed or diminished charges.
Call Our Boston DUI Attorneys at (617) 580-3449
Here at Keegan & Novick, we have over 40 years of collective experience
in the criminal justice system. Both of our founding attorneys were former
police officers, and they have extensive experience on both sides of the
courtroom. This unique experience will come in handy when preparing a
defense strategy for your OUI or DUI charges. To learn more about how
our firm can represent your rights and succeed on your behalf, contact
us today for an evaluation.